top of page

(RT) Face...or Hand...

Here’s a real quick one – we’ll start labeling these as “Random Thoughts” denoted by (RT) in the title. During lunch I was thinking back to a sermon I heard recently while traveling. I listen to a lot of radio due to my job and some teachings tend to resonate more than others. This particular sermon focused on the difference between seeking God’s face, and seeking His hand. To be honest, this is one of those topics that I’ve always struggled with – so what’s the difference, I would ask myself, God doesn’t have corporeal hands. (I’m not going to quote a speaker because I cannot remember who it was – don’t want to get that wrong.)

Well, it turns out there is a massive difference between seeking God’s hand and His face, as explained by one very logical speaker. Simply put, seeking God’s face means seeking to act, think, speak and be in the manner God would prefer thereby emulating Him. In my mind, that prayer sounds like, “Father, thank you for showing me how to love and for bringing me through this trial. I still need to be more forgiving and to see others in a positive light, but with your continuing help I’ll get there.” Seeking His hand is more akin to asking for help. It’s not like ordering off the menu, but it can leave that sort of impression. Again, in my mind, “Father, we just found out Bob has cancer. We really need your healing touch right now,” or “God, if you get me out of this I promise I’ll never get into this situation again – ever!”

Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m not condemning or even discounting either effort. God knows I’ve asked for His “hand” plenty of times in my life. And who among us hasn’t promised never to do something as stupid as what lead to that last prayer!

Anyway, don’t just take my word for it, read about it yourself and see if you agree. Start with passages around 2 Chronicles 7:14, Psalm 27:8, and 105:4, and then see how those interact with Matthew 6:33 about seeking the Kingdom of God.

I’d love to hear your Random Thoughts, by the way.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page