top of page

The One!

In The Matrix, Neo was "The One."

In Harry Potter, Harry was "The Chosen One."

For Star Wars fans, it was Anakin Skywalker.


In reality, I'm "The One."


But isn't that the exact opposite of what you would expect a Servant Leader to say? Well, no. It's exactly how most servant leaders come to be. We started out as part of the 100 - then something happened that separated us from the herd. For some, it was a profound loss. For others, the curse of success. For still others, it was the constant din of doubt peck...peck...pecking at our faith until we realized we weren't part of the herd anymore - and we didn't care.

But He did.

Jesus said in Luke 15...

"What man of you, having a hundred sheep, if he loses one of them, does not leave the ninety-nine in the wilderness, and go after the one which is lost until he finds it? And when he has found it, he lays it on his shoulders, rejoicing. And when he comes home, he calls together his friends and neighbors, saying to them, ‘Rejoice with me, for I have found my sheep which was lost!’ I say to you that likewise there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine[b]just persons who need no repentance." (Luke 15:4-7, NKJV)

You see, Servant Leader, to be "the one" means Jesus had to come find us. It means that, for whatever reason, we weren't where we were supposed to be. Maybe we had drifted, or maybe we had made a choice that led us down the wrong path. How ever we got there, we needed a savior to bring us back home.

As servant leaders, it's our job to recognize when we've lost a sheep and go find it. The world calls it "paying it forward." I just call it being Christ-like. Like forgiveness, if Christ can forgive me of my sins, I can forgive others who sin against me. If Christ can leave the 99 and come find me, then I can be the shepherd of my sheep and find the one that I have lost.

So, the next time you watch a movie (or sit in a board room) and everyone is in disbelief with their "chosen one," just remember - that's when a servant leader is needed most.

Go find "the one" and bring them back to the ninety-nine.

Christ did it for you.

Pay it forward.


(Photo: The Matrix)

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page