top of page

Contented

We all face it at least once in our lives – the inevitable change at work. Sometimes we initiate the change because we’re ready for something new. Sometimes it happens as a result of the company reorganizing or changing the way it does business. And sometimes it just happens to us, out of the blue one might argue. We may like change or we may hate it, but in this life there is one constant we can rely on and that constant is change.

I recently went through one of those changes. It seems as I mature I find them less often. When I was younger we would change jobs, locations, assignments like clockwork – every 3 years. That’s the military mindset and it’s a hard one to break. Eventually things slowed down and we saw 4 years, 5 years, even 6 years between major changes. However, the pace of change may be easing, but as we age the impact of change seems to increase. I know I used to revel in change – I loved the stress and challenges that came with a major life change. Now, not so much. When recently asked why I didn’t want a promotion I honestly said I wasn’t ambitious enough and didn’t feel the need to climb the ladder anymore.

Whether by design or simply by age, I find comfort in Philippians 4:11-13.

I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

I find when I put my trust in Him completely, not just say the words but really mean it, that regardless of the outcome I’m okay. I really can do all things if I rely on His strength.

Hmm. Imagine that.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page