top of page

HALT!

HALT! No, it’s not followed by, “who goes there,” or at least not in this case. No, today it’s H.A.L.T.

A few years back I heard an excellent sermon by Charles Stanley. He titled it H.A.L.T. and it seems fitting to revisit what he said there.

First, a bit of background. Yesterday was a very long day. I came to work at 7 am instead of going to church because I’m on business travel and I knew the day would be demanding. When I finished half my work for the day and closed my computer at 3:30 in the morning, I’d managed to spend a full 2 ½ days’ worth of work on God’s planned day of rest. In that time frame I’d eaten half a pizza and drunk more coffee than I care to admit. I was very displeased with the work I was seeing which was the reason I managed to only get half of mine done in the first place, and I was stuck, on a weekend, in the Nation’s Capital.

All of this will make sense in a second.

Snap back to the sermon. H.A.L.T. stands for Hungry, Angry, Lonely, and Tired. So, thank you Charles Stanley for preaching a sermon that encapsulated every feeling I had yesterday. But it’s important to know why he preached the sermon – it was a warning. As humans in general and as Christians in particular we are at our most vulnerable when we are hungry, angry, lonely or tired. That threat is compounded whenever two or more are present. Have you ever been around a “Hangry” person? Watch out!

But for me, I wasn’t just hungry or lonely or angry or tired. I was all four. And it was in that moment when God brought Stanley’s sermon to memory because I wanted to cuss, to throw something, or to send an unpleasant email. At 3:30 this morning, just 4 hours ago, I wanted to do anything but wait for the erratic driver to pass and run a red light so I could safely merge and go to my hotel. But at 3:30 when I was at my most vulnerable, God reminded me that He would be my strength – that He would be my comforter – that He would make my path straight. He reminded me that in those moments of weakness, when we want to be “only human” that is when our strength is renewed – when we choose to rely on God and not ourselves to get through. That’s when he gives us His strength to take one more step, or in my case to withhold that ugly email.

You see, it’s not about giving up and saying, “God, I’m not strong enough so you have to do it for me.” That’s wrong faith – that’s poor Christianing – and it’s just plain bad adulting. It’s about saying, “God, I’m not strong enough, but I trust you to give me just enough reserve to avoid that pitfall.” God never tells us to give up and let Him do it for us, or to “Let go and let God” as the popular and oft misused phrase goes. No, He tells us that He will be there with us, to walk through the storm and to keep our hand steady. The secret in walking through the storm, though, is you have to walk.

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” (Jos 1:9, NIV)

So “Let go” of your troubles, and let God have them, but don’t let go of your strength. If He’s going to steady your hand for the trip through the storm, you’re going to have to give Him your hand to steady.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page