top of page

Bowe Bergdahl Walks

Peter Bergen, CNN National Security Analyst, penned an opinion piece for this morning’s website declaring justice has been served in Bowe Bergdahl’s court martial hearing. I’ll be honest, if you read Bergen’s Op-Ed you’ll wonder exactly how much CNN is paying for his time. For FOX and ABC news, Bergdahl’s story has already fallen below the fold. CNN, NBC and ABC continue to cover the verdict, focusing on undue command influence of then candidate and now President Trump. Like Bergen, NBC’s story paid more attention to Bergdahl’s suffering at the hands of the Taliban than to the wounded or killed soldiers who sought to retrieve him from his “walkabout.”

Bowe Bergdahl pleaded guilty to desertion and misbehavior before the enemy – punishable by life in prison. His action occurred in Afghanistan, during wartime, and cost lives. After Army COL Judge Jeffery R. Nance’s decision, Bergdahl walked free.

I must be honest. I’m conflicted.

I only know what I’ve read in the MSM or seen on the news. My perspective is that of a former Marine and lifelong student of the Middle East and West Asia who sees a soldier admit to deserting his post, causing hardship for fellow soldiers, and then walking free. I’m not inclined to agree with the New York Times best-selling author of war books that justice has been served. The Marine in me says justice has far from been served, especially in light of injuries sustained by CPO James Hatch, the death of Hatch’s military working dog – himself a soldier, and MSG Mark Allen. Further, any “odd” soldier can now claim a higher calling when deserting his post during conflict and expect similar treatment. The Marine in me says the "stigma" of a dishonorable discharge isn't even close to the suffering of good soldiers who dropped everything to rescue Bergdahl from himself. The Marine in me recognizes the Bergdahl sentencing as a further weakening of the necessary discipline of our Armed Forces.

The student of culture in me says we haven’t yet seen the end of the cost attributable to Bergdahl since the five Taliban former President Obama traded for Bergdahl’s release have yet to make a known impact. Anyone who has been in Iraq or Afghanistan understands that “Americans own the watches, but Taliban own the time.” We cry over more than a decade of conflict in West Asia, but Taliban patience is renowned. They will wait. They will strike. Failing to recognize the threat of those five released Taliban will cost lives.

But the Christian in me says Bergdahl has suffered enough for his own actions. The Christian says his mental disorder, schizotypal personality disorder (STPD), demands my sympathy. I recall scriptures about vengeance being God’s purview, not mine (Rom 12:19), about forgiveness being a requirement of a good disciple (Matt 18:22), and that taking an eye for an eye was replaced with turning the other cheek (Matt 5:38-40) over two millennia ago. The God-fearing, enemy-loving, conscientious Christian in me says it’s time to move on, that I have no skin in the Bergdahl game, and that our collective injuries can only be sustained by failing to move on.

So my challenge to you is to pray for Private Bowe Bergdahl and his family, pray for CPO Hatch and MSG Allen and their families, and pray for the unknown and untold injuries of Bergdahl’s actions. Give it to God and move on. Your anger isn’t sanctioned by a loving God and your right to hold Bergdahl accountable doesn’t align with the call to be holy and above reproach. Accept my challenge and move past your “righteous indignation.”

I’ll accept my own challenge and trust in God and do the same.

(Photo courtesy of Sara D. Davis / Getty Images)

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page