top of page

Thoughts and Prayers

Thoughts and prayers go out to the families of the victims in Sutherland Springs, Texas. But thoughts and prayers don’t prevent atrocious acts of violence. – Don Lemon, CNN.

Ok – I’ve avoided this topic for about as long as I can. Whether it’s Chelsea Handler blaming all Republicans for the shooting, Joy Reid blaming the NRA and NRA members for all gun violence, or it’s Will Wheaton or Don Lemon denouncing prayer and people of faith as useless, one thing is clear. The voices of hate are loud.

I’m rarely surprised these days, especially when it comes to hypocrisy or the extent to which evil and hate will go to be heard. We see it on Twitter, on FB, and in the MSM every day when celebrities and famous persons make illogical or improbable statements that could easily be classified as extreme. I already cited several, and don’t think I need to give any more time to their hateful ways.

Rather, I’d like to focus on the people and the faith of Sutherland Springs First Baptist Church. Not on specific people, or on the specific beliefs of Baptists, but on people of faith and belief in general. As difficult as it is to admit, and I’ll probably draw some heat for saying this, but if we’re going to have violence, God-fearing churchgoing folk are probably in the best position of anyone to handle it.

Hear me out before you condemn me for my opinion.

First, true Christians – those who believe in Jesus Christ as the Son of God and have accepted Him as Savior – are in the best position to die of any cause. My position isn’t emotional, it’s practical and it's scriptural. While we mourn with those we have lost, like the families of Sutherland Springs First Baptist Church, we recognize the reality that their battle on this Earth is now won. You have to agree with me that a truly saved child of God is prepared for heaven, but no one is ever truly prepared for hell. Therefore, if I had to choose between a Christian and an atheist to die, I’d choose the Christian every time. The soul of the atheist isn’t ready for hell no matter how adamant he/she is against Christ. But the soul of the Christian is simply biding his/her time until this temporary life is over. It may seem callous, but my opinion is actually very practical. If a Christian is ready to celebrate in heaven along with the angels and witnesses, then he/she is the only choice here.

Second, and I’ll be honest I go between sometimes being too jaded and sometimes being too naive, but we get to live out our faith. While I wouldn’t choose this type of action to prove my faith, neither would Paul have chosen stoning, or Job any of the maladies that befell him, and the disciples wouldn’t have chosen crucifixion to live out theirs. I mean, we suffer every day and it’s hard to find the joy in everyday trials, but trials are a part of living a Christ-filled life in an evil world. I’ve said it before. If you aren’t on Satan’s RADAR then you aren’t doing it right.

“Indeed, all who desire to live godly lives in Christ Jesus will be persecuted, while evil men and impostors go from bad to worse, deceiving and being deceived.” (2 Tim 3:12-13, Berean Study Bible)

Finally, trials bring us closer to God. Any Christian who has suffered and been victorious through trials – and I mean serious trials – has to recognize that for whatever reason the trial came, God alone carried us through. I’m not talking about running out of gas in a thunderstorm. I’m talking serious, faith testing trials that leave us questioning God’s love, our own faith or value in this world, or our ability to even survive said trial. When the smoke clears and we look back, we always find the instances or ways God supported us and brought us through. It’s like Mercy Me says in their song, “Even If”. He can save us in the fire, but He may choose to let the fire burn for a while.

“In all this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials. These have come so that the proven genuineness of your faith – of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire – may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed. Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy, for you are receiving the end result of your faith, the salvation of your souls.” (1 Pet 1:6-9, NIV)

So my challenge to you today is not to be sucked into the hateful rhetoric we see every day; rather, to recognize that the losing side always cries loudest. Be firm in your faith. Mourn for those who weren’t ready and comfort those who have lost, but find God in all trials. He’s there.

He will always be there.

(Photo courtesy of Chris Kotsiopoulos)

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page