top of page

Here am I...

So what does it mean to be willing to be used for a greater purpose? A friend posted some of the following details on FB a few days ago. Thanks, Larry. Finding actual details for these articles can be tough during high-interest news cycles.

As the story goes, a family in Alabama was having difficulty making ends meet. But as often happens, life goes on regardless of our ability to keep up. The parents split their last $10 so the husband could get gas for work and the wife could get gas for a follow-on doctor’s appointment. And, as is often the case when we’re at our wits end, everything seemed to be going wrong. The mother went to the doctor with her son, who was sick himself and home from school, and discovered she was short money for her co-pay. She absolutely didn’t have money for food.

When the mother was back with her doctor, another woman handed the son an envelope. In it, the mother and son later found a note that said “I’ve had days like you are having today. Hang in there. Joshua 1:9” along with a $100 bill.

What is Joshua 1:9? “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” (NIV)

Joshua 1:9 is often paired with 2 Timothy 1:7, which says, “For God has not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.” (NKJV) When paired together they are a strong reminder that God is always with us, that He has given us the strength to get through whatever comes our way, and that we in Him are victorious.

What about the woman who gave encouragement and money? How does she fit in? There’s another familiar passage found in Isaiah 6 that describes Isaiah’s commission and his decision to be used by God.

“Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, ‘Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?’ And I said, ‘Here am I. Send me.’” (Isaiah 6:8, NIV)

Ok, let’s be honest. I grew up in the church and I attend church regularly, but I still don’t know a single person other than my pastor (technicality – he already did so he doesn’t count) who would say to God, “Ok, I’ll abandon everything I have, everything I’ve worked hard for, my house, my car, my job, my toys – everything – to do Your bidding. Just tell me what You want me to do.”

Nope – nobody.

But that’s not necessarily what God requires of us. Isaiah reminds us to be willing and to listen to God’s leading, but it doesn’t mean we all have to become preachers or prophets or missionaries. Sometimes it’s enough to see another in need and be God’s hands and feet in that moment. You won’t miss the $100 if that’s what “Send me” means, trust me. God is so much richer than $100. You won’t miss the hours to help someone fix a broken pipe or a broken relationship either. Trust me. God has plenty of time set aside for you to waste doing you own thing. Sure, every once in a while God is saying, “Deny [yourself] and take up [your] cross and follow me,” (Matt 16:24, ESV) but those cherished, blessed individuals are few and far between. God usually just asks you to be present, in the moment, and sensitive to what someone needs – and answer their silent prayer.

So the next time someone is tugging at your heart strings and you struggle over giving up your last $20 or putting aside time to listen, just think of how blessed that person would be if you would just listen. Be present and say “Here I am.” And if it matters, God is no slouch when it comes to blessing those who listen to Him. So be His hands and feet. If you hear Him calling, take a chance and answer.

“Here am I. Send me.”

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page