top of page

Absolutely...Maybe

Over the weekend, a friend posted an article – the content of which is irrelevant aside from its left-leaning stance – that prompted a discussion on absolutes. The discussion was short lived, devolving quickly, but it raised a good question. Are absolutes really finite or does society define absolutes? And how do we, as Christians, address the changing attitude toward what we feel are moral absolutes?

Ok, so my use of the adjective “good” is itself questionable. I wrote that first question as I chuckled, but just briefly, because the argument over the finite nature of absolutes was a valid topic for those involved. Regardless of the definition of the term “absolute” the nature of the word was up for debate. It seems, in their logic, that society could change the definition to suit their changing norms. This appears to have been the higher cognition of which I was apparently incapable.

So let’s catch you up. I started by commenting on the loss of society’s ability to define absolutes and used right v. wrong, winning v. losing, and male v. female as my examples. I was directed to an “interactive map” on gender-diverse cultures published by PBS.org to educate me on the fallacy of my argument. I’ll save you the trouble – the premise behind the article is that Western societies that espouse two genders are the exception and embracing three, four, even five genders is the global norm. (https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.pbs.org%2Findependentlens%2Fcontent%2Ftwo-spirits_map-html%2F&h=ATO4EiOaLDa2TABeUI4uIkW-tZ2L-do2Xdsv3a-fdAEXhHhUI4otVJApvVp7Wf4-JnUNSgAzkgpEO9qoeNzaLjQiwZQo0orrflcyTurb0sLSdxjzLJ2XXpgfYhwxf851Ngb80Pxl)

I don’t want to make this entry solely about homosexuality, transgender, gender identity disorder, or gender dysphoria; rather, about the whole idea that absolutes have been under attack for more than a generation and Conservatives are losing the battle. (Note: Good Christians fall on either side of the conservative/liberal line) God’s attitude towards non-male/female relations can be summed up in two words – Sodom and Gomorrah. (Genesis 19) That seems pretty absolute to me.

Further, the idea that only “high thinkers” can grasp the concept of challenging or changing absolutes would be insulting, if it were not so ludicrous.

“Ludicrous” you say? That attack is the tool of a low thinker!

Ok, so, looking at my argument from earlier about absolutes. I proffered right v. wrong and winning v. losing in addition to male v. female. We’ve already established the response to God’s plan for procreation – male and female. What about right and wrong? How sacred is that?

It seems it depends on your viewpoint. That’s right. My example of having something stolen, as defined by Merriam-Webster as the taking of property of another wrongfully and especially as a habitual or regular practice, is arguably not definitive. What if the thief steals food to survive? Is it still wrong? Is it Christian to withhold food from someone in need? What if the owner has more money or property than he/she can appreciate but the thief uses it to better the lives of downtrodden? Isn’t Robin Hood a tale of good moral value overcoming legal entrapment? What about cultures where the “haves” gained their power and property through corrupt means trampling the class of “have nots” on their way? Is stealing from them still wrong? For some reason I’m hearing Rocket the Raccoon arguing with Corpsman Dey in Guardians of the Galaxy – “but what if I want it more?” Does that challenge your definition of right v. wrong? Does that change the absolute nature of it?

Ok, so right v. wrong may not be as black and white as we hoped. Let’s look at something seemingly more solid – winning v. losing. In my argument, I score 10 points and my competitor scored 7. The goal was to outscore my opponent within the rules of the game. I won. He lost. It really is that simple. Isn’t it?

Wait - there it is. Do you hear it? It’s a cacophony of sound gaining intensity like a train closing on you in a tunnel. It’s like the sound of the surf crashing into a cove or the soundtrack to an action movie in a Dolby theater – it’s everywhere!

“Everyone’s a winner just for trying”

Bring on the participation trophies!

Ok – since we can’t seem to see logic in simple concepts. Let’s try one inalienable statement.

God Is.

In Exodus, God directed Moses to speak with His authority to the Israelites, saying “I AM.” (Exod 3:14)

In John, Jesus said, “I am the bread of life; he who comes to me will not hunger, and he who believes in Me will never thirst,” (John 6:35) and “Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was born, I am.” (John 8:58)

God establishes himself dozens of times in the Bible. He is. The exasperating argument over absolutes that began long before I was born and will continue long after I am gone carries no weight and has no impact on the absolute fact that God IS. In a world that has lost the ability to define absolute concepts such as winning and losing or male and female, Christians have both a refuge and an absolute advocate in Christ. We may insult each other with claims of lower cognition and misinterpret the teachings of world-renowned thinkers like Chomsky, but at the end of the day – at the end of time – God IS. All this temporal hate and discord is wasted breath, pearls to swine, in God’s divine plan.

So my challenge to us all today is to keep it simple – God IS. Don’t try and overthink it or speak in cognitive conundrums that confuse and confound. It really is simple – God IS. And remember, if I’m wrong and there is no God, then what’s the harm in believing and living by His precepts? But if I’m right and God IS, woe to him who would rather test the fires of absolute damnation than to rely on the mercies of the Divine One.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page