top of page

Poor planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part

My team at work was recently asked to complete a personality assessment to better assist management in tasking and training us for continued professional development. Part of that assessment required us to give two statements: First, how best to work with me, and second, when to come to me for help. The “When to come to me” statement had two parts itself – come to me when, and don’t come to me when.

While I was honest with both, the second statement was the most fun for me as I wrote, “Don’t come to me when you didn’t do the work and need someone to save you.”

Honestly I want the company to succeed. Being a workaholic that usually means I end up doing more than my fair share of the work. It’s a leadership failure because I’d rather do it myself and ensure it gets done right rather than enforcing standards and risking delay or failure. I’m aware of it and work to avoid those situations, but at the end of the day, I end up doing more than my job.

Still, there are times when my leadership gaps are exploited. It’s in those times I fall on God’s word to stay level. I frequently cite Ephesians 4:26-27, which says, “Be angry, yet do not sin. Do not let the sun set upon your anger, and do not give the devil a foothold.” For me, that’s the key to remaining in God’s will – it’s okay to be angry when someone abuses your flaws for their own personal gain, just don’t sin.

What does that mean, though? Jesus displayed righteous anger when he gutted the temple of the unethical money changers (Matt 21:12-13) but He had a clear charter – He was God!

For us it isn’t always as clear-cut as thieves conniving with Government to steal from the poor or those traveling who were unable to bring their own token for sacrifice. Maybe it’s the guy at work who “convinces” everyone else to do his work or it’s the boss who favors one and looks to pin blame on another. Maybe it’s the boss’ boss who is blind to the travesty and believes whatever he is told.

But in these circumstances, how do we, as Christians, allow ourselves that righteous anger without crossing into sin?

As I’ve said before, I’m no theologian, but I will relay my experience. Anger doesn’t have to lead to sin. Be angry at the manipulations of the sloth who pushes his work on others, but don’t hate the person. Understand that his actions are in response to his own weakness. Be angry that the boss sees the travesty yet ignores it, choosing rather to deflect blame onto those capable around him for not “picking up the slack.” But don’t hate the boss. It’s often times his failures that cause him to deflect and he’s not happy about it in most cases.

And in the end, realize that sometimes “no” is the answer. Sometimes failure is an option. The world does not rest on your shoulders nor does it revolve around your ability to save the company from its own poor choices. Leaders lead, leaders fail, and leaders learn. Learn that every challenge demands responsible action, the top of each list often carrying one of two choices – Pick up the slack, or pick up your resume. Personally, after years of workaholism and refusing to let the company fail because of another’s manipulation I pick door number three, Bob.

Just say “No.” Use your anger with the situation to empower your position and trust God that He will lead you to avoid the sin part.

(Photo courtesy of the businessexpocenter.com)

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page