top of page

Love is a Choice

I’m going to break with popular culture today. While President Trump and “The Squad” go at each other, and Hasan Piker of Young Turks assaults Texas Congressman Dan Crenshaw’s war injury, I just wanted to say – I love you.

Jesus was very clear when He said, “Love your neighbor as yourself.” (Matt 22:39, NIV)

It really doesn’t matter if you practice Wicca. You are my sister. It doesn’t bother me that you reject my version of Christianity and instead prefer atheism. You are my brother. It doesn’t change my opinion of you if you voted for Barak Obama twice and will never vote for Donald Trump. You. Are. My. Brother.

In a world where everyone is offended by everything, in a world where the word, “snowflake,” as ridiculous as it sounds, has come to mean “everybody that disagrees with me,” in a world where we’ve gone from asking, “What Would Jesus Do (WWJD)?” to “What Would (insert noncommittal gender neutral pronoun here) Do?” I still love you.

I don’t love you because of who you are or what you do for me. I don’t love you because of what you give me or even because you agree with me. I love you because God commands it. Sure, love is a feeling between a husband and wife or between a mother and son, but love is also a choice. If I truly love you, then I will want the best for you. I will celebrate your victories and cherish your successes right along with you. I will smile when you are happy, hurt when you are sad, and share in the ups and downs right along with you. That’s what love does. That’s what Jesus commands.

I know this is short, but Jesus’ message of love really doesn’t take that long to understand.

Love your neighbor at least as much as you love yourself. And in case you forgot – everyone is your neighbor.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page