top of page

Famous Last Words

Throughout time historians and scholars have recorded the last words of celebrities and leaders for posterity. Every American learns of Nathan Hale’s Revolutionary War comments to his British captors in 1776 when he said, “I only regret that I have but one life to lose for my country.”[1] Some know of Roman statesman Cicero who, in 43 BC is recorded to have held his head high when proclaiming, “There is nothing proper about what you are doing, soldier, but do try to kill me properly.”[2] And very few will have ever learned of Thomas Carlyle, a Scottish philosopher who said on his death bed, “So, this is death. Well!”[3]

Recording someone’s famous last words is a practice that places undue importance on the last thing anyone might say, as if in death, clarity becomes acute. Perhaps the most poignant famous last words belong to Jesus himself, who, after receiving the bitter wine, said, “It is finished!” (John 19:30, NKJV)

Ok, so I’m not dying, nor am I a famous celebrity or leader, this does mark the end of my journey as a blogger. I thought long and hard on how to end my run. I considered a lengthy recap of what I considered my highlights of the last two years, but I decided I’m no revolutionary. I’m just a Christian whose only regret is that I didn’t reach more people with my blogs. I considered a passionate plea to properly close out my time with you, holding my head high. But I’m no statesman and my pedestal is as tenuous as my righteousness is borrowed. And again, I considered making a simple yet remarkable revelation. However, if I’ve learned anything in my studies it’s that God speaks as much in the silence as He does in the noise.

So, I’ll simply say thank you to my tiny group of readers and wish that my efforts to shine God’s light of love in today’s hateful world has meant something to someone. I have learned more about our loving Father than I had planned. I trust that, in His plan, there is someone to follow me who continues to shine His light from the hilltop.

So, Christian thanks again for your time as I move on to whatever endeavor my God has planned for me. I am comforted in God’s word, and I leave you with this.

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.” (Jer 29:11, NKJV)

It is finished.

[1] https://www.businessinsider.com/famous-last-words-in-history-2017-10#winston-churchill-2

[2] Ibid.

[3] Ibid.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page