top of page

People.

Readers, I describe myself as a Christian, husband, father and grandfather, Marine Corps veteran, and occasional writer - precedence in descending order. I have served with some great men and women in the Corps - times and people I will remember always. I've seen the country and the world, having visited 48 of the contiguous 49 States, several Canadian provinces, and traveled to 5 of the 7 continents. In each place, I have met wonderful, and sometimes wondrous people.

I remember speaking with "kids" on the beaches of Tunisia. These "kids" were the foot soldiers for the local mafia, a necessity of life in their day. They were intelligent, hungry, and appreciative of the simple things.

I remember dock workers in Quebec, appreciative that I tried to speak French but understanding that my vocabulary was limited to "hello" and "where is the bathroom." (I have since forgotten the French word for bathroom!)

I remember speaking with Iraqi men from Fallujah and the surrounding towns. They were so kind and willing to trade useful information for useful tools, despite their attempts to manipulate. You see, when survival depends on cunning, friends can be anyone with a spare slice of bread or a luxury, like an electric razor.

I remember working alongside a Jordanian man with a heart of gold. He taught me subcultures, and his currency was friendship. When it comes to servant leaders, there is none greater.

I remember standing on a street in Herat, Afghanistan, watching the people watch me. And the Afghan teenager who ran in front of our moving truck on a busy street, causing my driver to slam on his brakes and curse in Pashto. We lived that day. (If you know, you know.)

I remember sitting in Luke's (a lawyer) office with two guys, one named John and the other named Matt, and making a joke about the Apostles. One of my mentors turned to me, "That's funny, because I'm Jewish!" - then she laughed.

People.

People are what matters.

We live our lives with people. We work with people. We play with people. We cry with people, and we pray with people. Our greatest achievements, Servant Leader, are made with people - as are some of our greatest regrets.

People come from different backgrounds. They have different experiences. Some we see as morally ambiguous - until we understand their circumstances. Some we project our own beliefs on, setting them up for failure. Some we idolize, immortalize, or demonize. In the end, we will have nothing left but people who love us and will miss us.

"A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; as I have loved you" (John 13:34, NKJV)

These 10 words, "that you love one another; as I have loved you," say it all, Servant Leader. It's about people.

People we work and train with.

People we live, laugh, love, and cry with.

People we mentor, learn from, and argue with.

So, Servant Leader, I ask you simply - what are you doing today with your people?


(Photo: flickr.com)

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page