top of page

Privileged

I am privileged. I am also humbled.

For those who don't know already, I am six weeks removed from a successful emergency lumbar discectomy, laminectomy, and fusion - a surgery for which I was privileged to have a top-notch surgeon, first-class pre- and post-op nurse care, and untiring continuing care by my wife and family. Here's the short version.

On Tuesday, I injured my back. My first visit to the local hospital saw an x-ray and a diagnosis of a sprained back with instructions to follow up with my chiropractor. Two sleepless nights later, my chiropractor advised it was not a sprain but a herniated disc, for which he recommended an MRI, or an attempt at decompression - the decision was mine. The decompression, he cautioned, could provide minimal relief or send me over the edge the other way. I chose decompression.

I chose wrong.

The next decision encompassed to which hospital ER I wanted the ambulance crew to take me. I could choose an ER that would see me quickly, but had limited resources, or a full-service ER that may pose a delay in being seen. Honestly, since I would have chosen a kidney stone over the pain I was feeling, I picked quick.

I chose right.

It took the ambulance two minutes to exit the driveway, thirty seconds to arrive at the hospital, and a minute to back into the dock and unload my gurney. By that time stabilization efforts were intense. A few hours later I was back in the "bus" for transport to a facility with an MRI that confirmed what everyone already knew - herniated disc. I returned to the hospital where I was admitted and told the surgeon would be in Friday morning to discuss options. (Note: If you've lost track, this was Thursday night.)

After a restless Thursday night the surgeon arrived early and performed his own assessment. He started the conversation by advising me that if I chose surgery, it could be done as early as Saturday. The other option allowed for aggressive physical therapy. A few minutes later the surgeon smiled, said he'd take care of me, and walked out. I didn't remember making a decision.

I hadn't.

By 1400 that day I was on the operating table. By 1600 I was recovering.

I mentioned at the beginning that I am privileged. I am. I am privileged to have a best-in-class chiropractor who recognized the symptoms for what they were and knew the test to provide immediate results. I am privileged to have the choice of two hospitals, one of which turned out to be a regional leader in neurosurgery (Note: limited resources don't mean poor service!) I am privileged to have had amazing nursing care in a comfortable room. I am privileged to pay for insurance that makes all of this care palatable.

I also mentioned that I am humbled. I am. I am humbled at the outpouring of concern I've received. Outpouring of love from friends thousands of miles away as well as family right here in my small town. I am humbled by how my wife and children have dropped everything when I needed them to do the most mundane things - pick up a dropped TV remote, make the trip downstairs to grab a drink, put on my socks because I can't bend or twist.

During the last six weeks I have also been challenged, privileged, and humbled as I attempt to not fall too far behind in my efforts to earn an MBA. My professor has been immensely helpful in keeping me engaged and on track, despite my condition. It was hard to imagine five weeks ago, when I couldn't walk and couldn't sit for more than just a few minutes, that I would finish my class on time. But I did. My final grade isn't exactly what I wanted, but I am humbled by my school's and my professor's attentiveness in getting me to the end of this class.

I am privileged. I am humbled. I am also thankful. I'm thankful for my chiropractor, my surgeon, and the nurses. I'm thankful for friends and family.

And I'm thankful for my God. There hasn't been a single waking second - and there have been many waking seconds since that fateful Tuesday - that my God's loving hand hasn't been in the front of my mind. Looking back I can attest that He led my chiropractor's hand, He led my choice to pick Selby General, He guided my surgeon's hand, and He has accompanied me every step of the way.

"For He Himself has said, 'I will never leave you nor forsake you.' So we may boldly say:

'The Lord is my helper; I will not fear.'" (Heb 13:4-6, NKJV)

So, yes. I am privileged to have received the care that I have. I am humbled to have people who love me be so attentive. I am also privileged to know Jesus as my Savior. I am humbled that The One True God would take the time to be with me every second of every day, despite not deserving His attention. And I am thankful that He is involved in every decision that I make and that others make for me.

I am privileged...

I am humbled...

I am thankful.



Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page